Eastern Wyoming College Announces Commencement Speaker

Thursday, April 21st, 2011 • 11:55 am

April 21, 2011
Eastern Wyoming College is pleased to announce Chief Justice, Wyoming Supreme Court, Marilyn S. Kite will be the speaker at the 62nd annual commencement ceremony. The ceremony will be held on Friday, May 6, 2011 at 7:00 pm in the EWC Fine Arts Auditorium.
The Honorable Marilyn S. Kite was appointed to the Supreme Court on June 2, 2000. She is Wyoming’s first female justice. She became the Chief Justice on July 1, 2010.
Prior to her appointment to the Wyoming Supreme Court, she served as Senior Assistant Attorney General for the State of Wyoming from 1974 through 1978. She then entered private practice with Holland & Hart, a regional law firm where she remained until her appointment to the Supreme Court. During her private practice, she served on the faculty of the Western Trial Advocacy – University of Wyoming and the Denver Regional National Institute of Trial Advocacy. She also served as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation and the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals Advisory Board. She received her B.A. from the University of Wyoming in 1970 with honors and her J.D. from the University of Wyoming Law School in 1974.
Commencement activities will begin with a steak fry for graduates and their families in the Student Center at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, May 6th. The commencement ceremony will begin at 7:00 p.m. with a processional provided by Janet Howard, Pianist. Ms. Connie Woehl, Associate Director for Outreach and Learning, will serve as the Director of Ceremonies. The National Anthem will be sung by EWC student, JoAnn Robbins.
Dr. Tom Armstrong, president, will then provide a welcome and introduce special guests. Mr. Dillon Mortensen, Student Senate President will provide a welcome on behalf of the students. Kite will then address the graduates.
Dr. Dee Ludwig, Vice President for Learning, will present the candidates for graduation. Following will be the presentation of Diplomas by Carl Rupp, President of the College Board of Trustees. Eastern Wyoming College Foundation President, Patrick Korell will then present the 2011 Distinguished Alumni Award and the 2011 Distinguished Service Award. The closing remarks will be spoken by Woehl.
There will be a ceremony to honor the GED graduates on Thursday, May 5, 2011 at 6:00 pm in Tebbet room 131.
For more information about the commencement ceremony, please call the College at 307.532.8200.

Comments are closed.