Eastern Wyoming College Student, Employees and Board Member Recognized

Friday, March 2nd, 2012 • 1:18 pm

From L to R: Aaron Bahmer, Bob Creagar, Susie Schaefer, Luke Kaufman, Dick Glandt, Sherri Lovercheck.

Eastern Wyoming College would like to announce the recognition of the individuals who were nominated by their peers for the Wyoming Association of Community College Trustees Awards.  The nominations were for exemplary student, faculty member, classified employee, professional employee and Foundation volunteer award.  Nomination packets included examples of how the nominee has had a positive impact on their community college and how they have been involved in the community. 
Susie Schaefer, Senior Administrative Specialist for EWC’s Community Education was the nominee and winner of the Classified Employee of the year award. She believes an organization is only as strong as the individuals within. Schaefer is active in recruiting potential community education instructors and frequently makes suggestions for courses based upon her experiences in the community. She is involved with Little Britches Rodeo and the high school booster club and is a positive advertisement for current and future community education offerings.
The EWC nominee for student of the year was Lucas Kaufman from Torrington, Wyoming.  Luke is a Pre-Dentistry major and will graduate from EWC this spring with an Associate of Science degree. He is President of the Phi Theta Kappa organization, is a college science and math tutor and helps out with the Adopt-A-Highway program.
Bob Creagar, Math and Physics Instructor, was the EWC nominee for faculty member of the year and has taught at the college since 1995.  Students shared their experience with Creagar as an instructor, “Mr. Creagar gives light, funny and encouraging presentations of material” and “he is awesome, very fun and energetic.”
The EWC Professional Employee was Aaron Bahmer. Bahmer is Instructional Technologist and has been with EWC since 1998, first as an instructor in Computer Science. He has been in his current position since 2000. He has helped design the college’s distance education courses and his technical expertise is tremendously helpful to everyone at the college. 
The nomination for Foundation volunteer of the Year was Richard “Dick” Glandt.  Dick has been instrumental in building community relationships which are the core of a successful development and Foundation program and directly relate to enhancing financial support for the college. He has been on the Foundation board since 2006. His knowledge of our community and region has been invaluable as the board has grown and includes exceptionally strong new members.
EWC Board of Trustee member Sheri Lovercheck was also recognized with a plaque for her service as President of the Wyoming Association of Community College Trustees.
Nominees were recently recognized at the WACCT Community College Conference and legislative reception held in Cheyenne.

Comments are closed.