EWC Foundation Announces Distinguished Award Winners

Friday, March 1st, 2013 • 1:16 pm

 David Briggs

(l to r) Pauline Deahl, Bev Yeik, Sharon Jones, Betty Hayano

The Eastern Wyoming College Foundation has announced the recipients of the Foundation’s annual awards of recognition.  The Distinguished Alumnus is David Briggs and recognized for Distinguished Service are Mrs. Pauline Deahl, Mrs. Sharon Jones, Mrs. Betty Hayano and Mrs. Bev Yeik.

David Briggs, Alliance, NE, is the CEO and President of WestCo.  He attended EWC in 1982-1983 and received an Associate of Arts degree in Accounting.  He went on to receive a BSBA in accounting from Midland Lutheran College in Fremont, Nebraska in 1985.

Mr. Briggs has held positions with Peter Kiewit and Sons, Omaha as an office manager and compensation supervisor and as a human resources manager.  He was the assistant general manager and general manager at WestCo prior to becoming CEO and President.

Mr. Briggs and WestCo provided EWC with the equipment necessary to have a weather camera on campus which shows weather across the North Platte Valley in Torrington.  The camera can be accessed through the EWC website.

The Distinguished Alumni Award was first given in 1991, and is based upon exemplary achievement in his or her particular endeavor in life, to include academic, professional, and civic activities or other areas deemed to be appropriate and significant.  The award is selected by the EWC Foundation.

The Eastern Wyoming College Foundation is proud to recognize the following individuals for Distinguished Service:  Pauline Deahl, Sharon Jones, Betty Hayano and Bev Yeik.

Mrs. Deahl worked at EWC from 1961 to retirement in 1992 for a total of 31 years of service.  She served as the Administrative Assistant to the Business Office and secretary to the Board of Trustees.

Mrs. Jones worked at EWC from 1973 to retirement in 2005 for a total of 32 years.  She served as the Administrative Assistant to President Chuck Rogers.  She then went on to serve as the Payroll Manager.

Mrs. Hayano served the College for 28 years from 1968 to retirement in 1996.  She served as the Administrative Assistant to the Director of Student Services.

Mrs. Yeik began working at EWC in 1965 on a part-time basis.  She become a full-time employee in 1966 and retired in 1979.  She served as the Supervisor of the EWC Work-Study Program.

During this period of the College’s development and growth, all four served “where needed” on special projects, grant development and submission, payroll and human resources back up, community education, athletics, faculty support, statewide projects such as common course numbering, and development of College capabilities in transitioning from paper records to computerized record keeping.  They supported presidents from Al Conger, Chuck Rogers, Guido Smith, Roy Mason and Jack Bottenfield.

This award was first given in 2011 and is based on leadership and significant accomplishment in a college role as an administrator, faculty or staff member, member of the Foundation board of directors, and/or member of the general public to include individuals or individual corporate entities.  The award is selected by the EWC Foundation.

Recognition will take place at the EWC Commencement Ceremony to be held in Torrington on May 10th at 7 pm in the EWC Fine Arts Auditorium.

Comments are closed.