Academic Services is dedicated to serving the communities in our 16,000-square-mile service area. We are here to help you succeed and achieve your academic and life enrichment goals.

We are proud of our faculty which includes 35 full-time instructors along with over 100 adjunct and concurrent enrollment faculty members. Rich classroom and laboratory experiences are hallmarks of our instructional staff along with a low student/teacher ratio.

Academic Services Contact Information

The Academic Services Office is located in AC249, which is right across from the cafeteria. The Interim Vice President of Student and Academic Services oversees all instructional areas (credit and non-credit) as well as instructional support areas.  The Curriculum and Learning Council is the primary committee that approves all new courses and programs along with other duties.

Office hours are 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday (Fall and Spring Semesters), and 7:30 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday (Summer). For more information, contact the Interim Vice President of Student and Academic Services, John Hansen. 

John Hansen, Interim Vice President of Student and Academic Services
Phone: 307-532-8260

The Douglas community is home to our branch campus and is led by Dr. Margaret Farley, Vice President of the Douglas Campus. For more information, visit our Douglas Campus page.

The academic areas are further organized under departments led by department heads and program directors, if you’d like to learn more about academic programs in your chosen career field, feel free to contact our team at the email address below. 

Department Heads

Other colleges that Eastern Wyoming College has articulation agreements with include the following. Students are encouraged to contact these colleges for further information to complete their Bachelor’s Degrees.

Agriculture/Business Department
Dr. Debbie Ochsner, Department Head

Arts, Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences Department
Kelly Strampe, Department Head

Cosmetology Department
Donna Charron, Program Director

Health Sciences Department
Dr. Monica Teichert, Program Director

Math/Science Department
Sherri Warren, Department Head

Veterinary Technology Department
Dr. Colleen Mitchell, Program Director

Welding Department
Lynn Bedient, Department Head

Barbering Department 
Amanda Lashley, Department Head


University of Wyoming

The University of Wyoming maintains an outreach center on EWC’s Torrington campus. Students who plan to transfer to the University of Wyoming should be aware of a number of things that make the process a simple matter.

  1. Common Course Numbering – the University of Wyoming and all seven Wyoming Community Colleges have adopted a common course numbering system for equivalent courses. A student can count on ENGL 1010 having the same number and title at all schools.
  2. EWC has a number of transfer 2+2 degree plans with UW.  EWC students should work closely with their advisors to plan their transfer to UW.  Plans can be found here.
  3. Students transferring to UW from any Wyoming community college without an AA or AS degree will have their transcripts reviewed with the Transfer Catalog on a course-by-course basis.
  4. It is beneficial for a student to complete an Associate Degree from EWC or another community college prior to transferring to UW. See the UW Academic Coordinator for details.
  5. Community college graduates with an associate of applied science degree (AAS) will be able to earn a degree from the University of Wyoming under a Bachelor of Applied Science (BAS) Degree track.

UW provides access to degrees, endorsements, and certificate programs in Torrington.

For additional information contact:

Richard Ward, Academic Coordinator
University of Wyoming, Eastern Regional Center
Telephone: (307) 766-5160

Other Colleges

Ashford University
Clinton, IA

Black Hills State University
Spearfish, SD

Chadron State College
Chadron, NE

National American University


Olds College
Alberta, Canada

Regis University
Denver, CO

South Dakota School of Mines
Rapid City, SD

University of Phoenix


University of Wyoming
Laramie, WY

Upper Iowa University
Fayette, IA

Valley City State University


Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy